Friday, July 7, 2017

This Day In History

7 July, 2007 - Seven Wonders of the Modern World
7th July, 2007 : An official declaration of the new Seven Wonders of the Modern World was made determined from a worldwide poll organized by the New7Wonders Foundation. The New Wonders of the World are: 
1. The Great Wall of China (It is the largest man made monument ever to have been built and is visible from space.) 
2. Petra, Jordan (Petra On the edge of the Desert, was the glittering capital of the Nabataean empire of King Aretas IV) 
3. Christ Redeemer Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Statue of Jesus stands some 38 meters tall, atop the Corcovado mountain overlooking Rio de Janeiro) 
4. Machu Picchu, Peru (Ancient Inca City built by the Incan Emperor Pachacútec halfway up the Andes Plateau, and deep in the Amazon jungle) 
5. Pyramid at Chichén Itzá, Mexico (the most famous Mayan temple city, served as the political and economic center of the Mayan civilization) 
6. The Roman Colosseum, Italy (This great amphitheater in the center of Rome to celebrate the glory of the Roman Empire) 
7. The Taj Mahal, India (This immense mausoleum by the fifth Muslim Mogul emperor, to honor the memory of his beloved late wife) 

Taken from:

No comments:

Post a Comment